Globalization, Art Education, and the Internet

Last spring, I taught a section of a course called Globalization, Art, and Education.  The course, conceived by my colleague Elizabeth Manley Delacruz who co-edited an anthology with the same title, provides opportunities for students to explore “the nature of creative cultural expressions (aka “art”) in diverse global contexts; the dramatic impact of transcultural and transglobal interaction on local peoples and communities; and how all of this impacts personal, cultural, professional, and public policies, practices, and institutions.”  I realize this is a mouthful, and students were required to read and digest some heady articles on the subject.  But, in addition, we also played around with a lot of online avenues for engaging the global community of artists, educators, and learners.

Screen shot 2013-01-17 at 11.02.58 PM

Screenshot of the “View by country” statistics for Outside the Lines.

This week I had an experience that brought some of the objectives of that digital play into focus for me.  When I first read about the Live Action Toy Story project, I knew it was something I wanted to write about here.  It fit nicely with so many things I want this blog to address.  I wanted to write about it as soon as possible so I could ride the trending wave the project was generating and see how far it would take me.  As a result, my post wasn’t very long and it wasn’t thoroughly cited but it was, as of this evening, viewed 754 times by readers from 63 countries.  Amazing.  I never thought my ideas could have that kind of reach.

I’m sharing this experience with my students in the hopes that it might inspire more of them to put their ideas out into the world and see where they land.

Connections? Questions? Criticisms?

