Just Do It.

Last winter my husband, a songwriter, wrote one song everyday in the month of February.  I was incredibly proud, and extremely jealous.  I had recently thumbed through Twayla Tharp’s The Creative Habit (2003) and was dying to find a way to get myself in the right frame of mind to explore her recommendations; to restart some regular creative practice of my own.  Here he was doing just that.  Without any literary prompting.

I found all kinds of excuses, mostly legitimate.  I had to much on my plate already – work, talking care of a one-year old and her two older siblings, keeping the house from looking like it had been hit by a tornado.  But I was also scared.  After my daughter was born I was able to maintain a practice of making things in my sewing space and I was taking photos and sharing them on facebook everyday.  But the creative practice I felt I needed to focus on improving was my writing.  Mostly for professional reasons, but also to create space in my life for extended thought.  My intellectual life had devolved into a series of soundbytes fit between the day’s tenth reading of Strega Nona and games with trucks and trains.  I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to come up with anything to write about.  And I was worried that anything I did write about wouldn’t matter to anyone.

This past week, I got over the hump.  While I am on a break from my main teaching gig, I hope to write on this blog 5-6 times a week.  So far, so good.  Each time I sit down to write, I can feel my muscles getting stronger.  Finding the right words and putting them in the right sequence is getting easier.  I am finding that I could write about numerous things each day, so finding the one to write about is more of the challenge than having nothing to say.  I hope I can continue once I am back in classes this winter.  However, I promise not to judge myself if I can’t keep up at the pace I am working at on my time off.  Nor will I judge my work by the number of views the blog gets each day, though I am happy to note that people are reading it.  People all across the world!

Connections? Questions? Criticisms?

