Dispatch from NAEA: The Final Installment

I ended my time at the 2013 National Art Education Convention in a business meeting for the Higher Education Division.  I was lured there by the promise of some conversation about, critique of, and plans for response to the new, forthcoming, common core standards for art education.  But we never got to that.  While I learned a bit more about how the division operates, I left with a renewed feeling that I don’t want to be in a full-time faculty position at this point in my life.  I don’t have the patience to sit through meetings focused on speculative agendas.  I’d rather be focusing my energy on teaching and my own learning.  Maybe that’s selfish.  Maybe I ought to be doing more service to the profession.  But that’s where I am now.  No apologies.

One thought on “Dispatch from NAEA: The Final Installment

Connections? Questions? Criticisms?

