Preview: Toddler Time @ the CMA

Blueberry colored glasses

Blueberry colored glasses

So, I’m starting to get organized for our Toddler Time experiments at the Columbus Museum of Art next month. I am drafting a note to the participating parents; to clarify dates, times and locations, to set some basic expectations and guidelines, and to offer some ideas from the literature in early childhood regarding social, physical, and cognitive development within creative exploration. I’m also starting to put together some “lesson” plans. I will be documenting that planning here to share it with those parents as a form of preparation for our time together and as a space for questions, comments, and criticism. I’m also hoping I might get some feedback and recommendations from other folks who work with young children – in museums and other settings.

Today, Cora and I pulled out a lightbox I had stored in the basement and a set of old colored plastic notebook dividers I had saved from one of the big kids’ end-of-the-school year clean-ups. If I were making a list of top ten tips for parents who want to encourage creativity at home, saving old things and finding new uses for them would be close to the top. This also fuels my interests in sustainability education, and I’m always really pleased when I find a good use for something I’ve been holding onto for a while, like these folders. (I frequently recommend Beautiful Stuff! (Topal & Gandini, 1999) for more ideas about how to incorporate found objects into early childhood creative education.) Similarly, you don’t need a fancy box to do this kind of activity. DIY lightbox instructions are available all over the web.

I started to cut basic shapes out of the plastic and Cora immediately took them and put them on the lightbox. She enjoyed placing them on the box and seeing them illuminate, overlapping them to make new colors, and starting to sort them based on their shapes and colors. She didn’t need any instruction. I plan to use this as one of the activities for the free play stations kids can explore during the first part of our time together.

DSC_0220

As she worked, I thought about Josef Albers’s (1963) Interaction of Color and the color aid paper experiments I conducted in my freshman design course in college. I also thought about Paul Klee’s geometric landscapes and Louise Nevelson’s assemblages. Oddly enough, the CMA is currently hosting a big show of Mark Rothko’s work to which one might also draw parallels with this activity. So far there aren’t any plans for designated time in the galleries each week as part of our playgroup, but perhaps I ought to reconsider that given this connection. It would be fun to look at Rothko with young children. Unless they’re like Olivia the Pig who couldn’t accept Pollock’s drip paintings, they ought to be more open to his work than many adults I know.

The one thing I am a little worried about is that this activity will be very popular and my little lightbox won’t be big enough for everyone who wants to use it. We’ll just have to be prepared to talk about sharing and taking turns. Something tells me we’ll be doing a lot of that.

4 thoughts on “Preview: Toddler Time @ the CMA

  1. The picture of Cora and the light box is precious and priceless and she’s a lucky girl to have you as a mom. What wonderful experiences she’s getting! Love it!

    • Thanks, Karen! I really feel like you get back what you put in with this parenting stuff. She is my greatest project yet.

  2. Pingback: Toddler Time @ The Columbus Museum of Art: Day II | Outside The lines

  3. Pingback: Toddler Time @ The CMA: Day III | Outside The lines

Connections? Questions? Criticisms?

