Permission to Play: Winter Crafting Edition

While I was griping about, what I consider, inappropriate cultural appropriations of Christmas crafting a few weeks ago, I’m now fully engaged in making things to decorate our tree and give as gifts. I am wrestling with what to call this tree, what to call this holiday. There’s no Christ in our Christmas. There are cookies, and crafts, twinkly lights and lots of presents. As far as I understand, all that predated Jesus. So, maybe I can celebrate this season without feeling too much Jewish guilt. While I try to figure all that out in my mind, I’m keeping my hands busy making stuff.

Most of my crafting supplies have been in storage since our kitchen project began last spring and I lost my office space, and I am eager to have them around again.  I’m grateful for the parameters Christmas traditions provide for making things. Since I am out of practice, it’s nice to have guidelines for getting back in the swing of things, with plenty of leeway for improvisation. Tasks like making ornaments, cookies, and secret santa gifts offer a jump start; the supplies I have on hand lend a challenge to make the best out of what is before me. This truly is sacred time. Time I catch up on This American Life and the chick flicks in my netflix cue. Time to spend time with the kids around the table with hot glue guns and glitter. Time to rejoice in all things handmade: edible, wearable, and all things in between.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please see the follow-up to this post Our Craftiest Christmas to Date.

2 thoughts on “Permission to Play: Winter Crafting Edition

  1. Pingback: Our Craftiest Christmas To Date | Outside The lines

  2. When I was growing up in Brooklyn, lots of Jewish families I knew had Christmas trees. They called them Chanukah bushes. They were decorated with blue lights and dradels. I remember that the Jewish families had different cookies and baked goods at Christmas than we did. In our neighborhood there were as many lighted menorahs as there were Christmas lights. The public schools were also closed on Jewish holidays.

Connections? Questions? Criticisms?

