Picturebooks on the Potty: Vol. 2, No. 3

photo-1

Not pictured, but another one of our favorite picturebook about sleep is
Cinnamon Baby   (Winstanley, 2011).

Anyone who knows me outside of this blog, knows that Crafty Cora is one of the world’s worst sleeper. When, in the summer of her first year, Go The Fuck to Sleep (Mansbach/Cortes, 2011) was released, it was as it were written for me. I listened a few too many times to Samuel L. Jackson’s reading of it during our most restless afternoons and evenings. I just listened to it again for the first time in a long time and it still has me laughing out loud. I can’t imagine anyone who could better voice that story.

So, it was with mild hesitation that I took The Insomniacs (Wolf/Hits, 2012) and Bedtime is Caneled (Mend/Neyret, 2012) home from the library. What was I thinking? Was I just providing fuel for the fire? I went to bed each night wondering if this would be the one when Cora would come downstairs and say, “Mom, maybe we should ‘live during the dark hours” like little Mika Insomniac. Or, would this be the day that she’d send a note to the local newspaper bedtime canceled, forever. Thankfully, nothing like this has happened. Yet.

Maggie didn’t really send a note to the newspaper either.  But her declaration the bedtime was canceled somehow made its way to the editor’s desk. The results were not pretty.

The Insomniacs are a quirky family that relocates across the globe and, rather than adjust to the time change, decide to stay awake all night and sleep during the day. The images are rich and lovely with figures drawn in a contemporary graphic style, simultaneously bright and subdued coloring. I might have to buy this one just for the pictures.

One thought on “Picturebooks on the Potty: Vol. 2, No. 3

  1. This was a really good subject. Thanks for bringing up one of my difficulties as a parent many years ago and one my daughter is grappling with now.
    On a related subject, i.e., “parenting,” in general, read a review of a new book called “All Joy and No Fun” by Jennifer Senior.
    Amy, grandparent of two.

Connections? Questions? Criticisms?

