Picturebooks on the Potty: Vol. 2, No. 4

This is a companion piece of sorts. This weekend I finally got Rosa to sit down with me and watch Julie and Julia. We blogged about it on My Step-Monster’s Kitchen. There is so much I love about this film, but Meryl Streep’s portrayal of Julia Child is certainly at the top of the list.

This week in the history of art education course I’m teaching, students gave presentations on prominent art educators throughout history. While most of the options are folks who worked in schools, museums, and universities, one student jumped at the chance to report on Bob Ross. Bob and Julia had more in common than long-running shows on PBS. They both put highly refined artistic processes within in arm’s reach of the average person. Want to paint like Leonardo? Watch The Joy of Painting. Want to cook like Auguste Escoffier, watch The French ChefI never really watched either of these show all that much. Sick days home from school, that’s it. But I know these folks made a mark on me, if only a light scribble.

A few years back I found Bon Appetit! (Hartland, 2012) at my favorite children’s bookshop in town. I was on my way out and already had a nice (expensive) stack in my hands, but I had to have this one. One part biography, one part graphic novel drawn in a sketchy style that reminds me of Maira Kalman (whose work you already know I adore) it follows many of the same moments in Child’s life as Julie and Julia.

Bon Appetit!

Connections? Questions? Criticisms?

