SuperMom: DIY Barbie Shoes

My kid thinks I can do anything. I’m glad for that. I’m hoping it will translate into her own internalized sense of confidence. Whenever she’s having trouble with something, particularly when I’m driving and really can’t help, I encourage her to keep trying. “You can do anything. You just need to keep trying. Keep practicing.” These words are not my own. My parents raised me to believe I could do anything I put my mind to. I’m fairly certain they never imagined I’d draw on those words at 7 a.m. on a Sunday morning when asked to make high-heeled shoes for a Barbie doll. But, how could I say no? Even while I thought the task was hopeless, I had to try, least she stop trying. 45 minutes later, we had these. Watch out Manolo Blahnik.

DSC_0034 DSC_0041

Supply List:

Recycled cereal box cardboard

(Gold) duct tape

Pony beads

Hot glue

Needle and thread (when/if hot glue fails)

3 thoughts on “SuperMom: DIY Barbie Shoes

  1. LOVE them, Jodi! And love you. With the right encouragement, we CAN do whatever we decide is important enough. Love, Cousin Bonnie

  2. Pingback: More DIY Barbie Dress-Up | Art Education Outside The lines

  3. Pingback: Permission to Play: Birthday Parties | Art Education Outside The lines

Connections? Questions? Criticisms?

