#mobilephotonow

Sitting in the auditorium at The Columbus Museum of Art for a curator’s talk on a new exhibition. “Mobile Photo Now” brings together Instagram photographers from eighty-some odd countries. It is the latest installation in a series of crowd-sourced shows at CMA.

Due to familial duties I didn’t get to the museum until now, 1 hour and 15 minutes into the members’ opening; 15 minutes before the talk. I didn’t come downtown to sit in overflow seating, starring at a screen, so I’ll have to check out the show another day.

Teaching about globalization, art, and education this term has me pinning and posting all over, using hashtags like never before. I’m still trying to figure out what I think of it all but I like the way Instagram, like twitter, promotes interaction between like-minded strangers.
Just last week I posted this:

IMG_9074
“Composition in Compost” which lead me to meet the compostess, who identifies herself as a NYC master composter. This is one of those specialized interests you just don’t intersect with everyday. When she liked my photo, I felt understood.

More and more our students at UF are reporting on experiments with social media and their students. They find that asking their students to post their artwork on social media,  tagging it in meaningful ways, helps them and their students experience what it is like to put themselves out into the world in ways they never imagined.

I’m excited to hear how mobile photo now came together and consider its implications for art education. But for now, the talk’s starting. Gotta go…

4 thoughts on “#mobilephotonow

  1. Love the post! I’m an art educator myself and I have images included in the show, one of which was taken just outside my art room with my students! Wish I could be there myself tonight, sounds like a lot of fun!

  2. Pingback: #MobilePhotoNow Models Participatory Culture | Art Education Outside The lines

Connections? Questions? Criticisms?

