See you NOLA: NAEA 2015

So, once again my proposals for the National Art Education Association (NAEA) annual convention were rejected. But this time around I’m not letting that stop me from attending “the world’s largest art education convention.” Last year I stayed home and (kinda sorta) regretted it. I’ll be blogging along the way so feel free to follow along. I’ll also be posting photos to Instagram (jodikushins). I’ll try to tweet (@jkushins) a little but I’m not promising anything. (I’m still just not feeling the love on twitter…)

Sadly, I’m not getting in until after Tim Gunn’s keynote dialogue and “Critique Boutique IV,” but I am bookmarking a wide range of sessions on STEAM, maker culture, young children, art education history, teens, community-based practices, and cyberspace. I also have plans to spend time in the exhibition hall observing and talking with practicing teachers about what they are learning and experiencing from their time with the vendors and their “studios.”

When I talk about the NAEA convention to friends and family I always note the wide range of constituents the event draws; from rural elementary school-based art educators to museum folks from Manhattan, Research I university faculty and arts administrators at community art spaces. This year I hope to sample a little of everything.

I also hope to have a good bit of fun, catching up with old friends, classmates, and mentors, seeing some sites, and walking and eating my way through The Big Easy.

One thought on “See you NOLA: NAEA 2015

  1. Pingback: What I’m Taking Away from NAEA (2015) | Art Education Outside The lines

Connections? Questions? Criticisms?

